Viva La Novella

midnight-Shop-Image-250In 2012 Seizure began a novella prize to celebrate and promote short novels – because we like them and believe some of the greatest works in the English language are actually novellas. Even in it’s first year, competition was fierce with over 80 submissions. We shortlisted in January 2013 and then made the winning author keep it secret until the big reveal at the Emerging Writers Festival in Melbourne where Sandy Grant gave a wonderful speech. The winner was the lovely, talented, subtle and delicate Midnight Blue and Endlessly Tall by Jane Jervis Read.


In 2013, with funding from the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund, the Viva la Novella award expanded to create opportunities for four editor-judges to take a rare and important career stepping stone: selecting the entry of their choice to develop through the entire process of contracting, manuscript development, author support and editing, through to print and post-publication promotion. We had four talented editors select their novellas of choice, Zoë Sadokierski did the covers and all of a sudden there were four more brilliant novellas: Blood and Bone by Daniel Davis Wood, The Neighbour by Julie Proudfoot, The Other Shore by Hoa Pham and Sideshow by Nicole Smith.

TheOtherShore-FCover-feature Sideshows-FCover-feture Neighbour-FCover-feature BloodandBone-FCover-feature


In 2014, thanks to the generosity of a private patron, Viva la Novella came back for its third year looking for three new short novels to develop and publish through Seizure as beautiful printed works and the big reveal is taking place at the Melbourne Writers Festival on August 21st.


If you need or want any more information about the Viva La Novella prize, please contact




What’s a novella? For our purposes a slim 20–50,000 words.

Why a novella?  It is a movie-length reading experience and perfect for a digital read. Longer than a short story and shorter than a novel, it’s an under-published form.

What’s the prize? $1000 + Winners will have their manuscript carefully shepherded to publication by an editor and the Seizure team. The winners’ novellas will be designed with the usual Seizure flair and unleashed worldwide in digital and printed form.


Entries close: 2 December 2014

Shortlisting: February 2015

Publishing: August 2015


You can have a look at the 2013 winning book here and the 2014 winning books here.



If you’re an editor then, check this out.



Also happening: